CSL Behring

Banner Image
Paul Perreault

Location: King of Prussia, PA
Founded: 1916

CSL Behring

Paul Perreault
Managing Director and CEO

CSL Behring develops and delivers innovative therapies that are used to treat life-threatening conditions such as coagulation disorders, primary immune deficiencies, inherited respiratory disease and hereditary angioedema. The company celebrates its 100th birthday this year, and innovation has been part of its DNA all this time, starting with the work of Nobel Prize-winning physiologist Emil von Behring.

WORDS OF WISDOM: “Innovation is more than just an idea; it’s a culture.”

“Our innovative use of systems, technologies and manufacturing platforms has made us the most efficient producer of plasma-based therapies in the world,” says Paul Perreault, managing director and CEO of CSL Behring. Globally, more than 1,100 experts are working in CSL Behring’s R&D organization to discover new therapies that can save and improve lives.

CSL Behring’s work is driven by a desire to make a difference for people with rare and chronic conditions. In the past 18 months alone, the company has achieved a number of breakthroughs, including the first and only single-chain product for hemophilia A that is specifically designed for long-lasting protection from bleeds.

What’s more, CSL Behring’s product development doesn’t occur in a vacuum, but rather in collaboration with physicians and patient groups. “We believe that listening to our stakeholders is at the heart of the innovative products and services we provide,” says Perreault. “Patients and healthcare providers tell us what they want and need, rather than the reverse.”

The company also partners with others to develop medicines that are outside its core capabilities. In 2012, CSL Behring provided its intellectual property to AstraZeneca, which enabled that company to make progress on a new therapy for rheumatoid arthritis. For its pioneering work in developing therapies for rare and serious conditions, CSL Behring received the Corporate Leadership Award from the National Hemophilia Foundation in 2015.